I scooped three Green June Beetles out of the pool at different times during the day today. The first one promptly climbed off the pool skimmer and flew away, and I only had one chance at a photo. Settings were f/5.6, 1/640, ISO 200.

The second one, later in the afternoon, was unfortunately already dead when I saw it in the pool and scooped it out. I didn’t take any pictures of that one. The third Green June Beetle appeared in the pool in the evening. When I first got it out I thought it might be dead also because it just lay on its back without moving for a moment. Settings were f/5.6, 1/100, ISO 400.

But then it got back up on its feet and began walking, heading straight toward the camera. So here’s a head on view of a Green June Beetle. Its head is a beautiful shiny metallic green. Settings were f/5.6, 1/100, ISO 640.

And one more look at the beetle before it headed off into the grass. Settings were f/5.6, 1/100, ISO 320.

Over by the fence red/orange trumpet flowers are opening on the vine. Settings were f/5.6, 1/2000, ISO 200.

I saw this pair of little flies today–haven’t tried to identify them yet. Settings were f/4, 1/100, ISO 640.

(Coming back to add: I learned that these are Stilt-Legged Flies, Taeniaptera trivittata.)

A mockingbird perched on the wire outside the front window. Settings were f/5.6, 1/400, ISO 800.

And Sophie, always at my side in the yard. Settings were f/5.6, 1/100, ISO 500.

