I decided to try an experiment with metering today. I took 4 photos of the same palm tree against the sky from the same spot with the same settings, except for changing the metering mode for each photo. For each photo I focused on the darker center area of the palm frond. The basic settings were aperture priority, f/6.3, ISO 200. The camera selected 1/400 for pattern metering, 1/200 for partial metering, 1/100 for spot metering, and 1/320 for center-weighted metering. Here’s how the 4 photos compared (no post-processing except for resizing and cropping to make the composite, and adding the lettering).

This helped me really see how the metering modes are different and how they work. Obviously partial and spot metering read the darkness of the frond where I was focused and treated the whole photo as dark and needing brightening, while pattern and center-weighted balanced out the dark and light areas.

The mockingbird was back in its tree singing today and I took a few more photos, this time in both RAW and jpeg. I couldn’t get as close to the bird today as I did Friday. Today’s pictures have more trees in the background while the photos yesterday had more sky, but I like both sets. Here is the mockingbird with its head thrown back singing, converted from RAW. Settings were f/10, 1/100, ISO 200.

A green anole was out by the fence today. It could be the same one that appeared to have injuries from the other day–if it is, the injuries seem to healing up. Settings were f/6.3, 1/250, ISO 200.

I took some photos of Sophie under the palm trees. Settings for this one were f/5.6, 1/250. ISO 200.

And settings for this one were f/6, 1/200, ISO 200.

