The smoke from the wildfires was back this morning. The fires are in several counties surrounding our county, so we’re getting smoke from all directions even though the fires are nowhere near us. Here is a view from the back yard across the neighborhood this morning–normally the leaves of all those trees look bright clear green. Settings were f/29, 1/50, ISO 400. I set the camera for manual exposure today, and set the f-stop at f/29 to keep most of the scene in focus.

I took a couple of bird photos across the smokey yard–not great because of the smokey conditions, but considering that not bad. I took out the smoke the best I could in post-processing. This is a  female cardinal perched on a chair at the back of the yard. At least I think it’s a female–she looks a bit more colorful than female cardinals generally do, but nowhere near the bright red of the male. Settings were f/7.1, 1/250, ISO 400.

And this is the Great Crested Flycatcher in a tree at the very back of the yard. Settings were f/7.1, 1/250, ISO 400.

By afternoon a lot of the smoke was gone, but there was still some haziness in the sky. This plane flew over at a fairly low altitude, and I took a photo of it just to see how it would come out. After I took out the haze in post-processing I was surprised at how well it had turned out. Settings were f/5.6, 1/500, ISO 400.

Some tomatoes on one of the tomato plants. Settings were f/6.3, 1/800, ISO 400.

I’m keeping a list of birds I’ve seen in or from my yard this year, and today I was able to add another one to the list–a pigeon. Pigeons are very common birds and I often see them in the little shopping center around the corner, but we don’t often have them near the house. This pigeon was walking around in a neighbor’s yard across the street, a good distance away. Settings were f/5.6, 1/160, ISO 400.

The last one for today is Sophie, sitting out in the yard while I took pictures. Settings were f/6.3, 1/3200, ISO 400.

