Sophie was so happy that I was home all day today. Settings were f/7.1, 1/1250, ISO 160.

This little black beetle spent some time climbing all the way to the tip of the leaf, and then just clung there for awhile. Settings were f/7.1, 1/1000, ISO 160.

Behind the shed the spider was working on its web. You can see a strand of silk coming out of the spinneret on the spider’s body. Settings were f/5, 1/40, ISO 400.

Some squawking young Mockingbirds up in a tree prompted me to switch to the 70-300mm camera lens, and I got a shot of one of the young birds watching me. Settings were f/7.1, 1/500, ISO 400.

This big male Brown Anole on the palm tree is in the process of molting. You can see that his face looks darker, and that he almost looks like he’s wearing a lighter-colored hood, which is the skin he’s about to shed. There’s more light-colored loose skin on his legs and feet. Settings were f/7.1, 1/80, ISO 320.

I saw the little Green Anole today, but didn’t get a photo of him. (I don’t know if it’s a male or female yet, but I’ll just say him for now.) I was happy to see that he’s still around and looking as if he’s doing fine–Green Anoles are much less common than Brown Anoles in our area, and it’s nice to see a young Green Anole on the fence. I did take a picture of a young Brown Anole on the fence today. Settings were f/9, 1/100, ISO 200.

The biggest guy on this section of fence right now, the Brown Anole who seems to be the dominant male, is not very brave. He runs off the fence and hides whenever he sees me. If I wait a few minutes and go back, he’ll often be back in the same spot on the fence again, but as soon as he spots me he runs away again. If a more assertive male comes along I suspect he could easily claim this territory from the anole who has it now! I did manage a photo of the current dominant male before he hid. Settings were f/7.1, 1/250, ISO 250.