Today was another rainy day that brightened up a little in the late afternoon. On the side of the house I came upon a couple of small snails busily moving around in the grass. I see these little snails often, but usually they’re inside their shells and unmoving, holding onto a surface. These snails were active this afternoon.

Snail20140813_30b

Another snail down lower in the grass.

Snail20140813_34

This snail was stretched almost entirely out of its shell. It had climbed up a tall grass spike and seemed to be eating something there.

Snail20140813_62

Raindrops on a blade of grass.

Raindrops20140813_55

A red flower on my little bush/plant. I thought this was an azalea at first, but now I’m not sure. Azaleas usually put on a big show in early spring here–bushes are covered in blossoms for a week or two, and then they’re just green bushes for the rest of the year. They don’t generally bloom at odd times with just one or two flowers at a time. The flower doesn’t look much like a typical azalea flower either, but I’d thought it might be a small dwarf variety that had a different looking flower.

Flower20140813_8

The tomato plants are still producing tomatoes, but they’re going into their late August decline. For the past few years I’ve cut the plants back to about a foot tall at around this point in August, and they’d grow back and produce more tomatoes into the fall. A couple of times I was even able to pick a couple of tomatoes at New Year’s.

Tomatoes20140813_69

The Golden Silk Orb-weaver spider and her tiny mate up above her. There’s a lot of golden color visible in the web. The big female spider is looking even bigger and heavier to me–I’ll be watching to see if she produces egg sacs.

Spider20140813_2

 

