I knew the Golden Silk Orb-weaver was gone, but I went to check the web anyway just in case she might have shown up again. She hadn’t returned, and all that’s left is part of the golden web.

Web20140825_17

A big male brown anole was displaying his dewlap up on the fence near the web. I was always a little concerned that an anole might get caught in the web, but it never happened as far as I could tell.

Anole20140825_18

The big male in charge of the tomato pot area on duty this morning.

Anole20140825_48

Another red star flower (Cypress vine). These pretty little red flowers are about an inch in diameter and grow on a lacy green vine.

Flower20140825_37

Another wildflower.

Flower20140825_85

My most interesting photos today were of a tiny toad. We have baby toads in the yard every now and then, tiny creatures barely a half inch long. They’re so small they’re easy to miss–at first glance I though this one was a spider. I took a few photos of the tiny toad and as I did I noticed something reddish on its head. When I looked at the photos on the camera I could see that the reddish thing was an ant. I couldn’t tell if the ant was biting the toad or if the ant was even still alive, but red ants can often be fire ants here which do have a stinging bite. Naturally I had to scoop up the little toad and pluck the ant off its head, and then the toad hopped off into the grass by the shed.

Toad20140825_67

Toad20140825_69

 

