We had air conditioning problems today that fortunately were resolved quickly with a new part installed by the AC repairman. And after that was over, we had thunderstorms. So today I have just a few mockingbird photos taken before the AC situation came up.

This bird was not very close to the house, and from a distance the gray head looked darker, almost like an Eastern Phoebe. I took a few photos and saw that it was a mockingbird–a bit of a disappointment since there are mockingbirds everywhere, all the time, and I don’t often get to see an Eastern Phoebe.

Mockingbird20140902_1

This young mockingbird with its speckled chest was intently watching the ground down below. The background was dark and the bird was lit up by a little sunlight. I could have brightened this up a little more but I like it as it is.

Mockingbird20140902_5

Here’s the same young mockingbird in brighter, more direct sunlight.

Mockingbird20140902_8b

