Just a few for today, and two of them are of this pretty female brown anole on the fence in the middle of cypress vines.

Anole20141015_11

Anole20141015_27

Another young anole has lost his tail. This one lost more of his tail than the one I saw the other day, and this one has a couple of dark marks on his face and body that look like injuries. He’s still ready to raise a crest on his neck and back though.

Anole20141015_60

I’ve seen this insect before here and there at the back of the yard, and I finally got a photo clear enough to identify on Bug Guide. This is a Twig Ant, also known as a Mexican Twig Ant or an Elongated Twig Ant. It is about 8 mm long and has a very narrow wasp-like waist. It’s also supposed to have a painful sting, but fortunately I didn’t try to touch it and it didn’t seem interested in attacking me.

TwigAnt20141015_71

 

