There were little birds out in the yard and treetops again today, and I went out to try again for some photos. This time I actually did get pictures, all from a distance. The first bird I saw well enough to identify was an Eastern Phoebe sitting on the fence near the back of the yard.

Phoebe20141220_3b

The Phoebe flew to a small tree on the other side of the yard, and a little bird followed and perched below the Phoebe in the same tree. The Phoebe is blocked by a branch here, but my eye was caught by the tiny gray and white bird that had just landed.

Birds20141220_11

I got a few more photos of the little gray bird. My first thought was some sort of warbler, but after a little research in my bird books, I identified it as a Blue-gray Gnatcatcher. They’re about 4 1/2 inches long so they really are tiny. I’ve never seen this bird before.

Gnatcatcher20141220_13b

Gnatcatcher20141220_12b

Then a Downy woodpecker, a male with a red patch on his head, arrived up in another tree. Downy woodpeckers are small birds too, about 6 to 7 inches long.

Woodpecker20141220_16

Woodpecker20141220_18

 

