For most people this wouldn’t be anything unusual, but today we had snow flurries here in northeast Florida! It’s been years since I’ve seen actual snowflakes falling, so this was very unusual for us. I grew up in New England and had many years of snow experiences–sledding, building snowmen and snow forts, having snowball fights, etc., on to shoveling snow out of driveways, clearing snow off cars, and driving to work in the snow. But where we are now in FL we very rarely see it.

It was cold all day today, and when I went outside this morning, I saw this little Ground-dove puffed up to keep warm.

Dove20150108_39

Dove20150108_59

A little later I went outside again and noticed a few widely spread out specks of white floating down through the air–it took me a minute to realize they were snowflakes. It began to snow harder and I tried a few photos. Here’s the snow falling with the fence in the background.

Snow20150108_179

A bit of wind blowing the falling snowflakes.

Snow20150108_266

Of course the ground was too warm for the snow to stick, and the snowflakes melted as soon as they landed. This droplet of water on a sage leaf (just about the center of the photo) was a snowflake when it hit the leaf.

SnowSage20150108_116

