I saw an unexpected bird today, one I’ve seen before but not frequently. I saw movement in the palm trees and spotted a gray bird up there, not the right size or shape for a mockingbird.

Titmouse20150130_27

It turned out to be a Tufted Titmouse, a very pretty little bird that occasionally visits our yard. The titmouse is  gray with a white underside, and light orange coloring under its wings. It has a crest on its head and big dark eyes.

Titmouse20150130_19

Titmouse looking around.

Titmouse20150130_17

When I looked more carefully I saw that there was actually a pair of titmice in the palm tree, sitting near each other. This was the first time I’ve ever seen two of them together. They almost look like stuffed toys instead of real birds.

Titmouse20150130_14b

One more titmouse in the palm tree.

Titmouse20150130_21

