Slow day today getting adjusted to the time change. When I finally went outside to walk around with Sophie I saw a tiny Blue-gray Gnatcatcher hopping around in some small trees near the fence, but I had the wrong lens for the situation on my camera. The 70-300mm zoom would have been perfect, but I made do with the 90mm and got a few photos. This is a very small bird, only about 4 1/2 inches long.

Gnatcatcher20150308_18

Another look at the little gnatcatcher. It was more gray than blue, and you can see how it got its name.

Gnatcatcher20150308_16

This one was taken when the bird suddenly darted into a dim shady area, and I took a photo before realizing I hadn’t adjusted for the difference. I brightened it up and it’s grainy, but still a cute pose. I wish I’d had my 70-300mm lens on the camera! I’ve seen this little bird twice in that general area, so I’ll keep an eye out for it to show up again.

Gnatcatcher20150308_12b

 

