Recently I entered a nature photography contest sponsored by a local nature education and preservation group, the first time I’ve ever entered a photography contest. It was judged by a group of professional photographers from north Florida. There were four categories for photos: Birds, Other Fauna, Flora, and Landscapes; and two levels of competition, Advanced/Professional and Beginner/Casual (basically for non-professional photographers). I entered the Beginner/Casual competition and I chose a few photos to enter–a couple of anoles in Other Fauna, a couple of birds, and one flower.

Today they announced the winners of the contest, and I was very surprised and delighted to learn that I won 1st prize in both Birds and Other Fauna! I received a ribbon, a certificate, and a check for each of the two photos.

The photos will be used in a nature calendar, and there will be an exhibit of all the winning photos in the visitors’ center of a nearby state park.

So for today, my photos are my contest winners. My bird photo was a Great Egret on a winter day, with its plumes blowing in the wind.

Egret

And my Other Fauna photo was of course a green anole.

Green Anole

