Lulu licking her lips as she looks up at cherry tomatoes.

Lulu20150725_26

Lulu looking thoughtful by the tomato plant.

Lulu20150725_19

Today I saw a bird I haven’t seen around here before–a Loggerhead Shrike, which was sitting up high in the big pine tree. It’s a little smaller than a mockingbird, with a distinctive black mask across its eyes. These photos are the best I could do at that distance, but enough to identify it.

Shrike20150725_94

It’s apparently not an ordinary bird, though–it’s a tiny predator that preys on mice, small birds, reptiles and amphibians along with insects. It’s an interesting bird, but I don’t want my backyard anoles being attacked. Maybe the shrike won’t stay around.

Bird20150725_61

The green anole was back on the fence today, and unfortunately wasn’t looking very healthy. It seemed sluggish and looked thin.

Anole20150725_129z

Then a male brown anole came along the fence and stopped when he reached the green anole. He tried a dewlap display.

Anole20150725_142z

That seemed to work in alerting the green anole to his presence. The green anole turned around and walked toward the brown anole. I wasn’t sure what would happen next, wondering if the brown anole would show aggression.

Anole20150725_144z

But the brown anole just stood there and let the green anole walk past him. This was a very unusual situation–I’ve seldom seen brown and green anoles together like this.

Anole20150725_146z

A little later I saw the green anole on the gate, looking a little more alert than earlier. The meeting with the brown anole may have had an effect on it.

Anole20150725_181z

Last one for today is the male brown anole, showing off his dewlap again and looking surprised to see me watching him.

Anole20150725_199

