I was up before sunrise this morning (Lulu really wanted her breakfast) and when I walked outside to pick up the paper I saw the crescent moon in the sky. I got the camera and took a few photos. Up above the moon and to the left of it were several bright stars or planets. When I looked up information about the moon this morning, I learned that I’d actually seen an interesting sight–the crescent moon with Venus, Mars, and Jupiter in the sky around it. I think Venus is the bright planet in the upper sky, Mars is the one to the left of the moon, and Jupiter is below Mars.

Moon20151009_19

Palm fronds on this sunny, pleasant day.

Palm20151009_86

I saw a Carolina wren again today. This one was up in a tree and was making a lot of noise.

Wren20151009_23

When the wren sings, it usually tips its head back and sings toward the sky.

Wren20151009_56

One more of the wren.

Wren20151009_33

I was surprised to see a gloriosa lily in bloom today–I thought they’d finished blooming awhile ago.

Lily20151009_94

