Doll artist Helen Kish’s Riley is a tiny doll about 7 inches tall, representing a little girl about 3-5 years old. She has a vinyl head and hard plastic body with a mohair wig and hand-painted features. Tonight I was reviewing how to set a custom white balance on my camera and taking some indoor custom white balance shots without flash, and I chose little Riley as my subject.

First I took a photo of Riley with the settings on my camera as they were when I picked it up–manual, with the white balance set for a cloudy day outside. Riley was indoors under incandescent light, and the combination of camera setting and lighting turned her orange.

Riley20151024_15

I set the camera for a custom white balance and took a few more shots. Riley’s coloring is much improved (though not perfect) and she looks much more like herself here.

Riley20151024_20

The room wasn’t especially bright and these photos were handheld without flash, with the ISO set pretty high. They would have been sharper with more light and a lower ISO.

Riley20151024_22c

One more of Riley. I

Riley20151024_30b

