Max is first today, enjoying the sunshine in the backyard. He went to the vet today for his first visit and came out with a clean bill of health. He was anxious while we were there, and I think he may have thought he was being left again. He was very happy to get back in the van with me and to return home to our house.

Max20160622_79

I saw this grasshopper on the fence this afternoon. I’ve never seen one like it before–it had a very worn, raggedy look, which may have just been its normal appearance, or may have been the look of a grasshopper that had survived over the winter. Not the best photos due to lighting.

Grasshopper20160623_38

A head-on view of the grasshopper. Even its eyes have that “threadbare”, worn look, so maybe that is just its normal look–maybe even a form of camouflage.

Grasshopper20160623_21b

I didn’t have my camera with me when I spotted two baby anoles engaging in an actual fight. One was slightly bigger and older than the other and he was the winner of the battle. By the time I fetched the camera the fight was over and the smaller baby was running away, while the winner was watching him go.

Anole20160623_66

The winner then climbed up on the fence and sat there for awhile. There’s just a hint of a dewlap showing on this tiny anole’s throat.

Anole20160623_74

 

