It’s been awhile since I’ve seen a fight between a pair of anoles, but a fight started this evening right outside the back door. I picked up my camera and stepped outside for a few photos. It turned out to be an unusual fight–instead of the usual big guys with crests raised, these were two females. In addition to no crests, enough of the back patterns on both anoles are showing here to identify them both as females.

AnolesFight20160717_196

They fought hard for a good ten minutes while I watched and took photos.

AnolesFight20160717_157

The one on the right appeared to be winning throughout the fight.

AnolesFight20160717_169

I don’t think I’ve ever seen a fight like this between two female anoles.

AnolesFight20160717_196b

And in other anole-related news, Max is continuing his quest to catch anoles on the palm trees. So far he’s been totally unsuccessful, but he doesn’t let that stop him. He spends a lot of time circling the palm trees and watching for anoles on the trunks, where they like to perch.

Max20160717_50

Every once in awhile he spots a lizard, but the anole quickly darts up the tree trunk out of his reach. Sometimes he tries to jump, but he never comes anywhere close to the anole.

Max20160717_61

But he finds this activity endlessly fascinating, and he hunts for anoles as long as I’ll let him stay there.

Max20160717_54

 

 

