It was a gray, damp day today. I looked out the window this afternoon and saw two Swallow-tailed kites flying around and through some large trees down the street. I took the camera outside and did the best I could at that distance, in those weather conditions. Here’s a silhouette of one of the kites soaring through the sky.

Kite20160804_48

The kites were too far away to see much detail and I didn’t want to leave my husband (who wasn’t feeling well) or mischievous Max while I walked down the street. But even though the photos weren’t great due to distance and weather, when I zoomed way in on the photos I could see that the kites had been capturing prey. A kite catches and carries prey with its talons, and often eats in flight as this bird is doing.

Kite20160804_108

I couldn’t tell what the kites had caught but it’s likely they’d snatched up small birds as they flew through the trees.

Kite20160804_92

It’s hard to see, but this is the underside of the kite with the prey in its talons raised to its bill.

Kite20160804_91b

One more kite photo.

Kite20160804_106b

And when I turned to go back into the house, I saw this little face in the window.

Max20160804_117

 

