Max and I were walking in the backyard this morning when we came across a snake lying in the grass. I seldom see snakes and couldn’t identify it, so I quickly took Max back to the house and grabbed my camera. When I went back outside the snake was still lying calmly in the same spot.

snake20161002_15z

It was several feet long with a white stripe down its back.

snake20161002_17z

Closer look at the snake. After I got back in the house I looked up snakes on the computer and compared my photos to the online images. My snake seems to be a garter snake, a pretty harmless snake, so we don’t need to worry much about it. I’d still prefer for it to move on into a neighbor’s yard.

snake20161002_18z

I wanted to find out more about the toads that Max and I see in the yard in the evening, so once again I took some photos for ID purposes. The Florida Marine Toad or Cane Toad can kill pets with its poison, but by comparing photos, I could see that the toads in our yard were different from the Marine/Cane Toad. We have the most common toad in our area, the Southern Toad, which is not dangerous. I still don’t let Max play with them!

toad20161002_5z

Wildflowers growing up over the top of the fence. The sun lit up the flowers against the shady dark bushes and trees in the distant background.

flowers20161002_22

Another wildflower photo.

flowers20161002_25

 

 

