It was another wet day today, mostly gray and misty. This squirrel was sitting on a fence post in my neighbor’s yard, looking off over the fence. This is my favorite photo of the day–it looks a bit like a watercolor to me, and it makes me wonder what the squirrel is seeing.

squirrel20161220_31

Here’s the same squirrel in my yard a little earlier.

squirrel20161220_9

And one of about a dozen doves that landed in the backyard this afternoon.

dove20161220_20

We decided to put up our small tabletop tree this year instead of a larger one, mainly because of Max. This tree is sturdy and already decorated with lights, pine cones, and  (fake) berries all wired on, and it looks like it will hold up against Max’s curiosity. The tree is on a table in the front window, and Max hopped up there today to inspect it.

max20161220_7zz

