Max and I went to take a walk at the community college again today, and this time I brought the camera with me. Unfortunately the osprey that I saw soaring around last time wasn’t anywhere in sight while we were there.

But I did see some slight motion way up in the nest, so I pointed the camera up there and got some photos of an osprey head. Adult ospreys have light-colored eyes, while juveniles have orange eyes. This bird definitely had light eyes, so it’s an adult. Maybe it’s the female sitting with some eggs–I hope so.

osdprey20170210_94

The nest was very high, and as I looked up at it from the ground the bird head was a barely visible light colored spot. With my zoom lens I was able to see it was an osprey head and to get a few photos. I still had to crop way in to get these pictures.

osprey20170210_1

I’m hoping to have more opportunities to see and photograph the osprey family!

 

