Max and I checked on the osprey nest today. There was more softball going on, but I did see a little movement up in the nest which was reassuring. Then we set off on a long walk around the campus, all the way down to the far end where I spotted another osprey nest up on a light pole. It looked pretty much like the first one, a pile of sticks on top of the pole, and there was an osprey in sight in the nest.

osprey20170305_54zz

As I watched her (assuming she was a female), a male osprey suddenly swooped into the nest. He landed more or less on top of her. They were facing away from where I stood so I got the view from the back.

ospreys20170305_161bz

The male lifted off and back down a couple of times before he settled himself.

ospreys20170305_166z

The ospreys appeared to be mating, so at this nest at least there’s a good likelihood of eggs and babies.

ospreys20170305_168z

After a few moments the male rose up into the air to leave.

ospreys20170305_177z

He flew away while the female stayed in the nest. You can see his head and the ends of his wings as he departed.

ospreys20170305_178z

 

