I stopped by the community college today (without Max) and checked on the osprey nest. The female osprey was up there as usual and the male wasn’t around. After a short time the female flew off, leaving the nest unattended, which worried me a little. But when baby ospreys are around 6 weeks old the mother will leave them sometimes to find food, so I hope that was it.

Osprey20170516_2

A few minutes later the osprey returned, carrying a branch. It looks to me as if the nest has more than enough branches already, but she must have felt it needed more.

Osprey20170516_22z

She landed in the nest, moved around a little, and lifted her wings as she settled herself.

Osprey20170516_68

No babies in sight today, but they could just be out of sight down in the middle of that huge nest. I’ll keep checking on them.

Osprey20170516_69z