Most of the anoles living in my yard are brown anoles, but occasionally a green anole will turn up. I saw a green anole today when I was watching butterflies on the lantana bush by the fence. The anole was on the fence, partially hidden by a lantana branch, and was probably hoping to catch a butterfly or other insect.

Anole20170825_30b

This green anole had a sprinkling of grains of sand/dirt on its face, making me think it could be a female who’d been digging a hole for an egg.

Anole20170825_25b

The anole moved around on the fence, watching the butterflies through the leaves.

Anole20170825_45

It suddenly lunged deeper into the bush and came up with an insect in its mouth. I couldn’t tell what kind of insect it was, but the anole seemed to enjoy the snack.

Anole20170825_58

A pretty Gulf Fritillary butterfly on the lantans bush.

Butterfly20170825_71

 

