I was walking around the palm trees today when I saw a sudden quick motion out of the corner of my eye. When I turned I saw that a brown anole had leaped off the trunk of the tree to a plant down below, where it had captured a palmetto bug. It was not a long leap–the anole had started on the trunk about 2 feet above the ground and landed on a plant about a foot lower–but the prey was pretty impressive. Palmetto bugs are a large species of cockroach, an inch and a half to 2 inches long, that mostly live outdoors. This one was hanging around the palm trees where the anole grabbed it, and the anole then carried it back onto the palm tree trunk.

Anole20130430_13bzzb

The anole sat in that spot for a minute, looking like it was trying to figure out what to do with this big bug. Then the anole hauled the palmetto bug off up the tree.

Anole20130430_15bzzb

This larger brown anole was also on the tree trunk, poking its head out to watch me.

Anole20130430_18zzb

Sophie and Lulu were playing in the yard today while we were outside. They look pretty fierce here (especially Lulu), but they were both happy and just having fun together.

SophieLulu20130430_21zzbb